Leadership & Staff

TNAFP is governed by the Congress of Delegates and Board of Directors, which consists of member physicians who are elected to represent their peers in every geographic area across the state, including positions for medical students and residents. Directors are elected by the Congress of Delegates for staggered two-year terms. Students and residents serve one-year terms.

The Board of Directors meets periodically between annual meetings of the Congress to discuss and act on general business of the Academy and works with the Executive Director to develop and implement the strategic plan. The President serves as Chair of the Board and leads the Executive Committee, which has authority to act for and on behalf of the Board when practical or necessary to expedite business decisions.

Officers and Board of Directors

Jason Goolsby, DO, FAAFP – Jackson (*)


Kenneth Beaty, MD – Livingston (*)


Katherine Hall, MD – Athens (*)

Vice President

Michael McCutchen, MD – Mt. Juliet (*)


James D. Holt, MD, FAAFP – Johnson City (*)

Immediate Past President

W. Trae Bates, DO, FAAFP – Cleveland (*)

Speaker of the Congress

Grant Studebaker, MD, FAAFP – Jackson

Vice Speaker of the Congress

Beth A. Fox, MD, MPH, FAAFP – Kingsport (2024)
Daniel Lewis, MD, FAAFP – Greeneville (2025)
Delegates to the AAFP

Ty Webb, MD, FAAFP – Sparta (2024)
Walter Fletcher, MD – Martin (2025)
Alternate Delegates to the AAFP

*Designates members of the Executive Committee


Dave Chaney

Executive Director

Karen Baird

Director of Member Services


1Christopher Bridges, MD – Johnson CityOct. 2025
alternateTheo Hensley, MD – GreenevilleOct. 2025
2Kenneth M. Bielak, MD, FAAFP – KnoxvilleOct. 2024
alternateG. Anthony Wilson, MD, FAAFP – KnoxvilleOct. 2024
3Leslie Griffin, MD – ChattanoogaOct. 2025
alternateTJ Brichetto, MD – HixsonOct. 2025
4John Clough, MD, FAAFP – LivingstonOct. 2024
alternatePamela Sanders, MD – CookevilleOct. 2024
5Jay Trussler, DO – ManchesterOct. 2025
alternateopenOct. 2025
6Christina Mountain, DO – LebanonOct. 2024
alternateAmanda Miller, MD, FAAFP – MurfreesboroOct. 2024
7Doug Kennedy, MD – ColumbiaOct. 2025
alternateGreg Hines, MD, FAAFP – LawrenceburgOct. 2025
8Justin Turner, MD – JacksonOct. 2024
alternateLeah Gilliam, MD – LexingtonOct. 2024
9Susan Lowry, MD, FAAFP – MartinOct. 2025
alternateopenOct. 2025
10Kent Lee, MD, FAAFP – MemphisOct. 2024
alternateMuneeza Khan, MD, FAAFP – MemphisOct. 2024
11 (Resident)Danny Raley, MD – UT ChattanoogaOct. 2024
alternateShefiulai Akande, MBBS – Meharry, NashvilleOct. 2024
StudentAmelia Brewer – UTHSC MemphisOct. 2024
alternateAshlee Sweet – LMU HarrogateOct. 2024