About Us

The Tennessee Academy of Family Physicians is a nonprofit membership organization for more than 2,500 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students in Tennessee. TNAFP, a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, supports and represents members with legislative advocacy, Continuing Medical Education and other programs and services.

Family physicians deliver comprehensive, coordinated and continuing care for every member of the family and serve as patient advocates in the changing healthcare system. Because of their focus on prevention and primary care, family physicians can treat illnesses early and refer to appropriate subspecialists, when necessary. One out of every four patients in the U.S. is treated by family physicians.

Our Mission

TNAFP exists to support and advocate for Tennessee family physicians as leaders and providers of quality, comprehensive, patient-centered medical care.

Our Vision

The Tennessee Academy of Family Physicians will invigorate and empower family physicians in their efforts to enhance the health and wellness of Tennesseans.

Family Medicine’s Contribution to the Economy

$3.3 Billion

In Direct and Indirect Economic Output


of Jobs Direct and Indirect Positions

$1.6 Billion

in Direct and Indirect Wages and Benefits